## News Release



## **Notice on Board of Directors**

May 12, 2009---Santen Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd announced today the nominations for the members of the Board of Directors effective June 24, 2009, subject to approval at the 97<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meetings of Shareholders and the Board of Directors on June 24, 2009.

## Member of the Board

	Name	New position	Current position
Reappointed	Takakazu Morita	Chairman	Chairman
	Akira Kurokawa	President and CEO	President and CEO
	Masahiro Mita, M.D., Ph.D.	Managing Director	Managing Director
	Isao Muramatsu	Director *	Director *
	Noboru Kotani	Director *	Director *
	Tatsuhiko Hamamoto	Director *	Director *
Newly appointed	Toshiaki Nishihata, Ph.D.	Director Senior Corporate officer Head of R&D Division	Senior Corporate officer Head of R&D Division
Retired	Katsuhiro Waga	-	Director

<sup>\*</sup> Outside Director