News Release



Notice on Board of Directors, Corporate Auditors and Corporate Officers

May 20, 2008---Santen Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd announced today the nominations for the members of the Board of Directors and Corporate Auditors effective June 25, 2008, subject to approval at the 96th Annual General Meetings of Shareholders and the Board of Directors and the Board of Corporate Auditors on June 25, 2008. In addition, Santen announced the appointment of Corporate Officers as of July 1, 2008.

Board of Directors and Corporate Auditors [Board of Directors]

	Name	New position	Current position
Reappointed	Takakazu Morita	Chairman	Chairman and CEO
	Akira Kurokawa	President and CEO	President and COO
	Masahiro Mita, M.D., Ph.D.	Managing Director	Managing Director
	Katsuhiro Waga	Member of the Board	Member of the Board
	Isao Muramatsu	Member of the Board*	Member of the Board*
	Noboru Kotani	Member of the Board*	Member of the Board*
Newly appointed	Tatsuhiko Hamamoto	Member of the Board*	-
Retired	Kosei Furukawa	-	Member of the Board*

^{*} Outside Director

[Corporate Auditors]

	Name	New position	Current position
Reappointed	Yukinori Mizumoto	Standing Corporate	Standing Corporate
		Auditor	Auditor
	Tadao Kagono	-	Corporate Auditor**
	Yasuo Sato	-	Corporate Auditor**
	Eiju Miyauchi	-	Corporate Auditor**

^{**}External Corporate Auditor

2. Corporate Officers (excluding Corporate Officers who are also Members of the Board)

	Name	New position	Current position
Reappointed	Toshiaki Nishihata, Ph.D.	Senior Corporate Officer Head of Research and Development Division	Senior Corporate Officer Head of Research and Development Division
	Sadatoshi Furukado	Senior Corporate Officer Sales and Marketing Division, Prescription Pharmaceuticals	Senior Corporate Officer Sales and Marketing Division, Prescription Pharmaceuticals
	Kenji Iwamoto	Corporate Officer Head of Asia Division	Corporate Officer Head of Asia Division
	Masamichi Sato	Corporate Officer Corporate Planning/ Strategic HR/ OTC Business	Corporate Officer Corporate Planning/ Strategic HR/ OTC Business
	Adrienne Graves, Ph.D.	Corporate Officer President of Santen Inc.	Corporate Officer President of Santen Inc.
	Jyrki Liljeroos	Corporate Officer President of Santen Oy	Corporate Officer President of Santen Oy
	Kenji Morishima	Corporate Officer Head of Product Supply Division	Corporate Officer Head of Product Supply Division
	Yoshihiro Noutsuka	Corporate Officer Head of Planning and Control Division	Corporate Officer Head of Planning and Control Division