## News Release



## Notice of the Nomination for Members of the Board of Directors

May 8, 2013---Santen Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd announced today the nominations for the members of the Board of Directors effective on June 25, 2013, subject to approval at the 101<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meetings of Shareholders and the Board of Directors on June 25, 2013.

Member of the Board of Directors (As of June 25, 2013)

	Name	Current position
To be	Akira Kurokawa	President and CEO
reappointed	Sadatoshi Furukado	Director, Executive Corporate Officer, Japan Business and Human Resources Development, Head of Sales and Marketing Division, Prescription Pharmaceuticals
	Noboru Kotani	Director
	Akihiro Okumura	Director
	Takayuki Katayama	Director
Retiring	Toshiaki Nishihata, Ph.D.	Director, Executive Corporate Officer, Head of Research and Development Division

Noboru Kotani, Akihiro Okumura and Takayuki Katayama are nominees of Outside Directors and Independent Officers (as set forth under Article 436-2, Paragraph 1 of the Securities Listing Regulations of the Tokyo Stock Exchange, Inc. and Article 7, Paragraph 1 of the Regulations on Codes of Corporate Conduct of the Osaka Securities Exchange).

Toshiaki Nishihata will retire from the position of Director and assume the position of Scientific Adviser.